Re-run: NNPP wins in 2 constituency seats in Kano

Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Alhassan Ishaq as the winner of the re-run election held on Saturday in Kura/Garun Mallam constituency in Kano State.

INEC’s Returning Officer, Shehu Galadanchi, announced that Ishaq, candidate of New Nigeria People Party (NNPP), scored 37,262 ahead of Musa Daurawa of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who scored 30,803 votes.

Earlier, INEC announced Bello Muhammed Butu-Butu as the winner of the re-run  election in Rimin Gado/Tofa constituency.

INEC’s Returning Officer, Ibrahim Tajo Surai, declared Butu-Butu, also NNPP candidate, scored 31,135 as against his opponent of APC, who polled 25,557 votes

Daily Sun investigation indicated that by this result, the NNPP has 27 seats, the APC has 12 seats in the state House of Assembly while one seat is yet to be declared following the suspension of the poll in the constituency. 

Appeal Court had directed the electoral umpire to conduct a re-run election in 20 polling units in the Kura/Garun Malam and in 33 polling units in Rimin Gado/Tofa state constituencies.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top