APC retains 59 seats in Senate, PDP 37, LP 7

All Progressives Congress (APC) has regained its original number of 59 senators in the upper legislative chamber of the National Assembly, while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has retained 37. But Labour Party (LP) has lost a seat and now has seven.

Meanwhile, senators who recently won by-elections in their respective senatorial districts took their oath of office, yesterday.

Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, swore-in the three new senators elected recently during rerun/by-elections in their various senatorial districts.

The new senators are Pam Mwadkon of Action Democratic Party (ADP, Plateau North); Anthony Ani (APC, Ebonyi South) and Mustapha Musa (APC, Yobe East).

The Clerk, Chinedu Akubueze, led the new senators to take their oaths of office and oath of allegiance, on the orders of the Senate president.

They were subsequently led to their respective seats after the swearing-in by sergeant-at-arms.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top